Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is it legal to use the Family Growth action to extend your family by 2 or even 3 if you have enough rooms? The rules do not forbid it, but they only talk in singular about the new family member.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

You can add at most one newborn regardless of the number of empty rooms you might have.

The rules are clear on this:

After Family Growth, also 1 Minor Improvement (Stage 2): A player may only use this Family growth space if he has more empty rooms than Family members.

A player who chooses a Family growth action adds their newborn offspring to the Action space In the Return home phase, the new Family member is taken home ... A Player who takes the Family growth action will therefore have one additional (adult) Family member to use from the following round onwards.

share|improve this answer
4  
I agree with your assertion, however I think your rules reference is weak. The better passage to use is right after the passage you reference where they reference a single '...new Family Member...' and then further on they mention '...will therefore have one additional (adult) Family member...' emphasis mine. –  Pow-Ian Oct 31 '13 at 13:38
add comment

Each 'Family Growth' action gets you one additional person. You can do more than one 'Family Growth' action in a turn (getting multiple people) if the spaces are available.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.