Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

So what i wanted to ask is this... Kozilek, Butcher of Truth goes to graveyard and I have Stonecloaker in hand! My queston is can I exile Kozilek with my Stonecloaker before Kozileks ability resolves ?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes you can. Because when Kozilek goes to the graveyard, the "shuffle it into library" goes on the stack. Before that resolves, you can exile it from the graveyard with Stonecloaker.

The "shuffle it into library" is a so called triggered ability, therefore it goes on the stack and you can put your (instant or flash) spells on the stack before resolving that ability.

share|improve this answer
Thank you a milion ! this was helpfull ! – Chubz Nov 4 '13 at 12:02
But wouldn't the stack resolve anyway? So you exile Kozilek, but then afterwards the "shuffle into library" still resolves since it is on the stack? Then all you have done is made sure Kozilek doesn't get placed in your library, but that is all? Wouldn't it be alot easyer to use the return a creature you control before damage is dealt and Kozilek dies? You'll still have him in your hand then. – Lyrion Nov 4 '13 at 14:27
@Lyrion, Yes, the "shuffle your graveyard into your library" ability will still resolve. I'm not sure what you mean by your "wouldn't it be a lot easier" comment. I assume the OP is trying to exile his opponent's Kozilek, not his own, in which case Kozilek isn't a valid choice for the "return a creature you control" ability. – Kevin Nov 4 '13 at 18:11
@Kevin That is true did not think about that. – Lyrion Nov 5 '13 at 7:19
yea I was thinking about opponents Kozilek, we have a EDH group where Kozileks shuffle ability gives our friend infinite recursion, so I was wondering on how to remove him :) Thank you guy – Chubz Nov 6 '13 at 7:29

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.