Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

King of Tokyo has one of the most poorly written rules.

The rules state:

If a Monster loses its last life({Heart}) it is out of the game.

If you are attacked while in Tokyo and you don't want to be there anymore [...] you can yield to the Monster that attacked (he has to take your place). You still take the damage, however.

If you are eliminated by an attack on Tokyo, the Monster who attacked you automatically takes control of Tokyo.

Yielding Tokyo / Flee: A Monster can leave Tokyo (yield his place) to the Monster who just attacked him. If a card allows a monster to leave tokyo with no damage from an attack, the attacker still occupies Tokyo.

Eliminated: When you have 0{Heart}.

Does a Monster need to survive an attack to yield Tokyo?

This is important for a card like:

(5) Burrowing: Keep; Deal 1 extra damage on Tokyo.

Deal 1 damage when yielding Tokyo to the monster taking it.

Does a Monster eliminated by an attack deal 1 damage to the Monster that attacked them?

share|improve this question

When a monster is eliminated while inside Tokyo, they do not yield. Look at the exact phrasing:

If you are eliminated by an attack on Tokyo, the Monster who attacked you automatically takes control of Tokyo.

The rules say "takes control of", not "is yielded," so no yielding happens and the extra damage from Burrowing doesn't occur. Thematically, this makes sense: the monster is dead, and its ability to burrow doesn't help. You aren't yielding to the attacking monster; you're yielding to the sweet embrace of death. (Death takes one damage.)

share|improve this answer
Not that i disagree with your interpretation, but does this come from a WizKid rep or FAQ? – user1873 Nov 8 '13 at 0:52
Alas, no; I have but my own gray matter to support this answer. – Paul Marshall Nov 8 '13 at 1:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.