Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose my opponent attacks with 2 grizzly bears and I control 2 palace guard. I am on 1 life and must block both creatures to survive. I elect to block both creatures with both my palace guard.

In this situation, my assumption is that both the attacker and blockers must assign a damage order for their creatures, however this is confusing as each player can potentially choose a different order. I am at a loss as to what happens in that situation.

How are combatants ordered in this situation, and do player decisions have any significant impact on the outcome?

share|improve this question
    
The damage is dealt simultainously unless someone has first strike. In your case, your opponent will probably choose to assign 4 dmg to your palace guard and 2 to your grizzly bear. You'll probably assign all yoru dmg to a single bear of his, if you dont have any tricks in hand. I cant see any "order assigning" here. –  K.L. Nov 12 '13 at 10:12
    
the damage is dealt simultaneously but assigned according to a chosen order by the controller of each creature, I will try and modify the example to make a little more sense. –  Patters Nov 12 '13 at 10:19
    
I have updated the example - they now have to choose what they are killing by explicitly ordering the blockers. this should clarify the question slightly. I recognize that there are very few (possibly none, hence the question) situations where this could matter or even occur, but I would like to have clarity on it –  Patters Nov 12 '13 at 10:29
    
boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/12107/… this question seems to have the answer you are looking for, attacking creatures assign order before blocking creatures assign order. –  Nick Nov 12 '13 at 13:17
    
what is double block? –  Pow-Ian Nov 12 '13 at 13:42
show 6 more comments

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

For each blocking creature, you choose the order of the creatures that it is assigning damage to. So, for your palace guards, you have 4 total options:

  1. Palace Guard 1 and Palace Guard 2 both assign damage to Bear 1 first.
  2. Palace Guard 1 and Palace Guard 2 both assign damage to Bear 2 first.
  3. Palace Guard 1 assigns damage to Bear 1 first, Palace Guard 2 assigns damage to Bear 2 first.
  4. Palace Guard 1 assigns damage to Bear 2 first, Palace Guard 2 assigns damage to Bear 1 first.

If you choose either #1 or #2, you will do 2 damage to 1 Bear and kill it, while not touching the other Bear. If you choose #3 or #4, you will do 1 damage to each Bear, and not kill anything.

Also, for each attacking creature Your opponent gets to choose the order that your blocking creatures will take damage, so he also has 4 total choice:

  1. Bear 1 and Bear 2 both assign damage to Palace Guard 1 first.
  2. Bear 1 and Bear 2 both assign damage to Palace Guard 2 first.
  3. Bear 1 assigns damage to Palace Guard 1 first, Bear 2 assigns damage to Palace Guard 2 first.
  4. Bear 1 assigns damage to Palace Guard 2 first, Bear 2 assigns damage to Palace Guard 1 first.

Similar to your choices, if he chooses #1 or #2, he will deal 4 damage to 1 Palace Guard and kill it; if he chooses #3 or #4, he will deal 2 damage to each Palace Guard and won't kill anything.

509.2. Second, for each attacking creature that’s become blocked, the active player announces that creature’s damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures blocking it in an order of that player’s choice

509.3. Third, for each blocking creature, the defending player announces that creature’s damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures it’s blocking in an order of that player’s choice.

The key here is that players get to choose separately how each attacking creature (and each blocking creature) orders/assigns its damage.

share|improve this answer
1  
"...If you choose either #1 or #2, you will do 4 damage to 1 Bear..." Palace guard has a power of 1, not 2 and they only get to assign damage once no matter how many creatures they block. –  Pow-Ian Nov 12 '13 at 15:04
    
Indeed that was a typo, fixed! –  GendoIkari Nov 12 '13 at 15:05
    
And the next sentence needs to be fixed as well. "...Bear. If you choose #3 or #4, you will do 2 damage to each Bear, and not kill anything." They would only deal 1 damage each. –  Pow-Ian Nov 12 '13 at 15:07
    
it would make more sense also if you took the 'first' out of most of those sentences since the damage is all dealt at once. You would assign it all at the same time as well and there is no real order required, just if damage is assigned to 1 bear or the other. –  Pow-Ian Nov 12 '13 at 15:08
1  
I thought about that; as there are only 2 meaningful options. But the fact is that they are separate creatures; if you have no creatures other than 2 Bears on the field, and you are forced to sacrifice a creature, you still have a choice to make. Just not a meaningful one. And listing all 4 options makes it easier to extrapolate to the case where there are different types of creatures attacking. –  GendoIkari Nov 12 '13 at 18:03
show 4 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.