Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If Gray Merchant dies and is revived by something like Undying Evil, does it repeat it's loss of life when it is revived?

Also, if you used a card like Twilight's Call and he was revived with a bunch of other black creatures would the other revived black creatures count towards your devotion?


share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Question 1. Yes, he enters the battle field and thus his ability triggers.

Question 2: Yes, you use the devotion at the time the spell resolves.

A ruling on Gray merchant of asphodel has this:

If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.