Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can you revive the creature you sacrificed with Hell's Caretaker?

Doing so to re-trigger "enters the battlefield" effects.

share|improve this question
If you have more than 1 other creature, you can swap them in and out of the GY, though. You can even go infinite using 2x Deceiver Exarch. – Hao Ye Aug 14 '15 at 17:06
up vote 4 down vote accepted


The steps to casting a spell or activating an ability are:

  1. 601.2a) Place card or ability on stack.
  2. 601.2b-d) Make choices, including targets.
  3. 601.2e) Determine total cost.
  4. 601.2f) Activate mana abilities.
  5. 601.2g) Pay the previously determined cost.

The sacrificed creature is only moved to the graveyard in step 5, but you need to pick a card in the graveyard in step 2.

share|improve this answer


You have to choose a creature to 'target' at the time you activate the ability (Rule 601.2c). At this point in the activating process, you have not payed the cost to active the ability(rule 601.2g), so the creature you would sacrifice is not in the graveyard and is not a valid target.

share|improve this answer

Yes. THis is possible. You can also use cards in your hand

share|improve this answer
Add more thorough documentation, correct grammar, punctuation, etc. – Joey Aug 14 '15 at 16:35

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.