Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Betrayal of Flesh reads

Choose one — Destroy target creature; or return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

Entwine—Sacrifice three lands. (Choose both if you pay the entwine cost.)

If I cast it with entwine, can I target the same creature with the first half (while it is on the battlefield) and the second half (when it is in the graveyard)? Or do I pick the target for the second half before the first half resolves?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

No. All targets are picked as part of casting the spell. The spell resolves and places the creature in the graveyard far later.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.