Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Oloro, Ageless Ascetic has an ability that functions whilst in the command zone. As a newbie to the Commander format, that leaves me unclear about something:

Whilst a Commander is in their Command zone and remains there, what effect do they have on the game?

  • Are all of a Commander's abilities active? (e.g. Gahiji, Honored One)
  • Can they use their activated or mana abilities? (e.g. Sydri, Galvanic Genius)
  • Can they do anything else (apart from being able to be cast)?

I suspect all their abilities are active and can be used, but I've been told only the ones that specifically mention being in the command zone (e.g. Oloro's ability) are active.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Only Oloro's third ability functions in the Command Zone, and none of Gahiji or Sydri's.

Abilities of permanent cards usually only work on the battlefield, not in the Command Zone.

112.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield. The exceptions are as follows:

One notable exception is that characteristic-defining abilities (e.g. Ghost Fire's) function in all zones. The rest are quite intuitive (e.g. Cycling can be activated from your hand since discarding the card with the ability is part of the activation cost, "can't be countered" functions on the stack, etc).

Except for Oloro's third ability, none of the abilities of the three cards you mentioned meet one of the exceptions that would allow them to work in the Command Zone.

share|improve this answer
(Sorry, didn't have time for a proper answer earlier. I figured I might as well convert my comment into a proper answer anyway.) – ikegami Nov 26 '13 at 14:31
Transguild Courier no longer has a CDA as of the release of Innistrad -- he's been errata'd to just have a color indicator. (The same applies to similar cards such as Crimson Kobolds and Evermind.) Lhurgoyf and friends may be a better example. – Brian S Nov 26 '13 at 22:20
@Brian S, Ack, I meant Ghost Fire – ikegami Nov 27 '13 at 0:16

Cards in the command zone are not in the battlefield. Therefore no abilities are active, unless specified. The same applies for example for cards in your graveyard or exile zone. You also cannot activate abilities of cards in the graveyard, unless specified.

share|improve this answer
Thanks. This was a little mindbending for me: abilities are nonfunctional, except where the nonfunctional ability specifies it is functional by stating something that could only work from an area where the ability is nonfunctional, which shouldn't matter because a nonfunctional ability can't do anything, including making itself functional. Or so I thought. Ikegami pointing out CR 112.6 helps: the rules themselves make exceptions for abilities that include something that can only function in somewhere special. – doppelgreener Nov 26 '13 at 13:33
I strongly suggest you mention CR 112.6 in your answer - or at least the nature of the rules themselves making certain exceptions for those abilities. That makes it suddenly make sense why this stuff is the case. – doppelgreener Nov 26 '13 at 13:35
@JonathanHobbs Sure, but on the other hand, it shouldn't be too surprising. That's essentially what rules text does - makes something work differently from how it would without that text. The only nontrivial thing here is the fact that an ability that says " the command zone..." is allowed to work from the command zone, but again, shouldn't be surprising - they don't print meaningless text on cards. – Jefromi Nov 26 '13 at 19:46

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.