Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In a game of Dungeon! there is Slide Trap in Level 3 which says:

Gain 1 Treasure and move to any chamber on Level 4

What happens when I encounter a monster in the level 4 chamber, attack it insufficiently, the monster hits back, and I have to retreat a step? Where do I retreat?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Since the idea of the retreat system is to prevent you from passing a chamber by not killing a monster, we always play that you must go back the way you came. In case a trap brought you to a chamber you probably had no intention to pass that chamber anyway, since you did not mean to go to that chamber. So passing without killing a monster is not relevant in this case. We allow the unlucky player who ended up in the trap and who didn't kill the monster in the chamber to choose the path of retreat. It's not like it's that much of an advantage since the player never really intended to enter that chamber.

I don't know whether there is any official rule on this matter but this approach seems logical to me.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Now I do not know of an official ruling, but in this instance my group has always practiced that retreat is not the same as return.

That is to say the rules are telling you, that you are to no longer occupy the same chamber/room as the monster, not that you must go back the way you came.

I have not played Dungeon! but I have played New Dungeon which was a precursor to that game.

We always played that retreat simply means you move out of the chamber/room you are in, in whatever direction you fancy.

To pretend for a moment: While you are fighting a monster you are moving all around. Who is to say you are on the same side of the room as you started and near the same door you entered through?

share|improve this answer
    
If you may not "go back the way you came", then you can always cross a chamber by attacking the monster, but retreating in a separate direction - which is why retreating should mean go back the way you came, no? –  Neel Dec 14 '13 at 21:53
    
Well retreating is not always going back the way you came. From the first definition google gives us: withdraw from enemy forces as a result of their superior power or after a defeat. So even if you are not going the same way you entered, you are still retreating. We actually play that way. If you lose in a chamber, you go out whatever way you want. Even if that means you are 'crossing' the chamber. –  Pow-Ian Dec 26 '13 at 13:15
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.