Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Hissing Miasma

Types: Enchantment

Card Text: Whenever a creature attacks you, its controller loses 1 life.

My question is: does the attacker lose one life per attacking creature?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes (though they will be lost one at a time).


There's a rule specifically covering this:

603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences. See also rule 509.4.

If your opponent attacks you with an Elf and a Bear, two instances of the event "a creature attacks you" occurred (the Elf attacked you, and the Bear attacked you), so the ability will trigger twice.

You will place these on the stack where they will resolve one at a time, each causing him to lose one life (for a total of two).

share|improve this answer
    
(though they will be lost one at a time) Huh. So, if that opponent has something that works like "the next time a source will make you lose life, this prevents 2 life points of damage" that card should cancel ONLY the first point? –  juanzack Dec 5 '13 at 17:51
    
@juanzack, yup! The effect of the first ability to resolve is "its controller loses 1 life." This will be prevented. Then a second instance of the ability resolves. This is explained later in the post. –  ikegami Dec 5 '13 at 18:01
    
@juanzack, Except Hissing Miasma causes loss of life, not damage, so a damage prevention effect wouldn't do anything anyway. –  Brian S Dec 5 '13 at 18:40
    
ug, he used "lose life" in the trigger, but "damage" in the effect. He meant "The next time you would lose life, reduce the life lost by two." or something like that. –  ikegami Dec 5 '13 at 18:51
    
Haha yeah sorry, thanks ikegami, that's what I meant. This is interesting, since a card that would prevent the losing of 1 life from every source would completely negate Hissing Miasma. –  juanzack Dec 5 '13 at 19:03
show 4 more comments

Yes, the attacker will lose one life per attacking creature.

The ability is a triggered ability, because it uses the word "whenever". The trigger is a creature having attacked, and if 5 creatures attack, then this will trigger 5 times.

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They can also be expressed as "[When/Whenever/At] [trigger event], [effect]."

share|improve this answer
    
Great, that's what I thought! Thanks, I had to ask this anyway since the wording in Spanish is confusing. –  juanzack Dec 5 '13 at 17:47
    
@juanzack, Hm? The wording in Spanish is the same. "Siempre que una criatura te ataque, su controlador pierde 1 vida." –  Brian S Dec 5 '13 at 18:43
    
Tuve discusiones con amigos por "Siempre que una criatura te ataque", porque interpretaban eso como que se activaba UNA vez cuando en una fase de ataque enemiga 1 criatura o más atacaban. –  juanzack Dec 5 '13 at 19:01
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.