Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Solemn Offering reads "Destroy target artifact or enchantment", but can it affect auras that are attached to something? I've been searching around but haven't been able to find out one way or the other.

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes. It can target any permanent with the Enchantment type, be it a plain old Enchantment, an Enchantment - Aura, a Legendary Enchantment Artifact, or an Enchantment Creature. Same goes for artifacts: it can destroy equipment, for example.

Aura is a subtype of enchantment, and something which says "target enchantment" doesn't care about subtypes, just that the permanent it targets has enchantment as a type. This is similar to the fact that something which says "destroy target creature" can target any creature, whether it's a Creature - Elf or a Creature - Ooze.

share|improve this answer
Thanks! Newcomer to MTG here and, while I knew it would be useful, I just wasn't sure how useful. – Brian S Dec 7 '13 at 1:38
Relevant Comprehensive Rules: 205.2b and 205.3h. – ikegami Dec 7 '13 at 4:27

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.