Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

According to Wikipedia, in Omaha, a player must use exactly two hole cards and three communal cards when selecting the best hand.

In Texas Hold'em Poker, it is possible to use only the communal cards without using any hole cards, if the communal cards alone give the best hand.

So, is Omaha different from Texas Hold'em, in the sense that an exact number of hole cards must be used in Omaha?

share|improve this question

closed as unclear what you're asking by Pieter Geerkens, Gregor, Johno, Paul Marshall, unor Dec 21 '13 at 18:30

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

    
The Rules are the Rules. What about the Rules as you state them is unclear. –  Pieter Geerkens Dec 12 '13 at 23:00

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

To answer you title question: No. You are obliged to use 2 and only 2 of your hole cards.

There are main 2 differences between Texas Hold'em and Omaha Hold'em.

  1. The number of hole cards you have.
  2. The number of hold cards you must use to create your final hand.

In Texas Hold'em you get 2 hole cards dealt to you, but are not required to use any of them to form your final 5 card hand.

In Omaha Hold'em you get 4 hole cards dealt to you, but are required to use 2 (and only 2) of them when forming your final 5 card hand.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.