Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Mana gained from Boseiju, Who Shelters All and Hall of the Bandit Lord grant an ability to various spell types if it's used to pay for them. Are there similar, ability-granting effects for non-mana costs? I don't mean things like Devour, Devour is an ability that has nothing to do with costs; I ask specifically about costs in the rules sense.

share|improve this question
    
I am guessing you are referring to additional costs (e.g. "as an additional cost to cast ~, sacrifice a creature")? –  Patters Dec 13 '13 at 11:31
    
@Patters No if you read the ability of Boseiju it sais pay 2 life: gain 1 mana if that mana is spent on an instant or sorcery it can't be countered. Likewise Hall will say pay 3 life: gain 1 mana if that mana is spent on creature spell it gains haste –  Lyrion Dec 13 '13 at 12:37
2  
This would be a lot clearer if you gave an example of the kind of thing you're talking about. I don't really see how there can be an exact analogy for a non-mana cost. While the same mana could be used to pay for any mana cost, the same action can't generally be used on an arbitrary non-mana cost. Are you looking for something in the direction of "{T}: the next time you sacrifice a creature as a cost to cast a spell, that spell can't be countered."? Or just something like "{non-mana cost}: cast a spell without paying its cost. That spell can't be countered."? –  Jefromi Dec 13 '13 at 23:03
add comment

closed as unclear what you're asking by bengoesboom, Pablo, AndSoYouCode, Paul Marshall, Alex P Dec 17 '13 at 1:34

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

2 Answers

Maybe you mean something like Quicken or Savage Summoning?

share|improve this answer
add comment

No.

For stuff that modifies spells more generally, search for "that spell" and "those spells". You could also search "target spell", but that's mostly going to turn up counterspells.

share|improve this answer
    
A rather blanket negative, when Cavern of Souls achieves the same result as Boseiju for creature spells, yet doesn't meet the strict templating in your first link. –  Brian S Dec 13 '13 at 14:38
    
@Brian S, Cavern of Souls doesn't "grant an ability to a spell", and the answer a looser template just in case. –  ikegami Dec 13 '13 at 14:39
    
Neither does Boseiju –  Brian S Dec 13 '13 at 14:40
    
@Brian S, LOL! Boseiju is the very example that defines what that means! Please read the question. –  ikegami Dec 13 '13 at 14:43
    
You appear to be correct; OP isn't actually asking for cards similar to Boseiju/Cavern, but ways to modify spells other than spending special mana. –  Brian S Dec 13 '13 at 14:47
show 1 more comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.