Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

There are dozens of cards that turn land into creatures, but are there any cards that turn creatures into land ?

share|improve this question
    
Path to exile does that indirectly :) –  AndSoYouCode Dec 18 '13 at 7:44

2 Answers 2

There is at least one card that turns creatures into lands: Life and Limb, which makes all Saprolings Forests. If this Wizards column is still accurate, that is probably the only such card in the game.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for this. It's interesting that this really hasn't been done yet. I was hoping to find something that turned creatures into lands and removed their state of being creatures for a bit of sillyness, but I couldn't find anything. –  Ivar Dec 15 '13 at 19:37
1  
The problem is that making nonland permanents into lands is easily abusable. If you could turn any creature into a land, you could follow that up with Planar Cleansing to have the only creature on the battlefield. Plus, you could use something like that to avoid any effect that targets nonland permanents, like Detention Sphere. –  murgatroid99 Dec 15 '13 at 23:13
3  
It's not so much that it's abusable - there's very little that would be more abusive with this sort of card than the numerous other type-changing effects. It's just that the rules interactions that come about from making traditionally non-land permanents into land get decidedly awkward. Note that there are very few 'creature-into-X' effects because of just these interactions. –  Steven Stadnicki Dec 16 '13 at 23:00

One possibility is utilizing Clone and friends alongside manlands (or effects which animate lands).

Example: Pay {G} to turn a land into a creature with the first ability of Kamahl, Fist of Krosa. Then, pay {2}{U} to turn a Shapeshifter you control into that land with the activated ability of Shapesharer. (Note: Shapesharer is a legal target of its own ability.) The creature will become a land until your next turn and will not be a creature, because continuous effects such as Kamahl's are not copiable characteristics.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.