Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

player A : 4,4
player B : A,10
board : K,K,Q,Q,2

Which player wins? I guess Player B but player A claims he has a pair of 4 which is a bigger kicker. who is correct?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

Player B wins. All that matters is the best 5 card hand you can make with the combined 7 cards. So player A does NOT have a pair of 4 as a kicker... player A has K,K,Q,Q,4. Player B has K,K,Q,Q,A. Both identical 2 pairs, but player B has A which beats 4.

share|improve this answer
add comment

The best "hand" of five cards wins. That is two pair: KK QQ A kicker, and player B wins.

Player A has a pair of fours that "doesn't play" because there are already two pairs on the board (and no room for a third pair in a five card hand). But player B's ace kicker does play (and beat's Player A's 4-kicker).

Change the board to KKQ32, and Player A wins, because he has two pair, kings over fours, with a Q kicker, while player B has one pair, KK with an ace kicker. The second queen "counterfeited" Player A's second pair by giving player B a second (higher) one.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.