Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

With the addition of the Leaders expansion, you can use your leaders to build your wonder.

If you build Babylon (B)'s second stage (which allows you to play the card you would normally discard) with your third Age Leader, can you use this ability to play your fourth Leader or must it be used to play a third Age card?

As the fourth Leader would normally be discarded, the question was raised as we were playing tonight. I'm not sure how to answer it since, if you were using a Leader in any other Age, you would not be able to play another Leader as you would not be discarding a Leader at that time.

share|improve this question

No, you are not allowed to play a Leader.

From the base game rules, page 9:

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
· the second stage gives the player the option of playing their seventh Age card instead of discarding it.

From the Leader rules, page 3:

Leader Cards
The Leaders (white cards) are a new card category. They are not added to the Age cards and have a different back to set them apart.

See the bold parts: Babylon (B) allows you to play an Age card, but Leaders are not part of the Age card set.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.