Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Dungeon! a wizard must choose to use a spell, let's say lightning, before the monster of a room is revealed. What happens if the monster is revealed and it appears to be immune to lightning, as shown by the "-" sign?

share|improve this question

It is treated the same as if they rolled a number that was too low. They are defeated and suffer the usual consequences.

There are various different versions of the rules. The ones here show it on page 10, third paragraph.

share|improve this answer
Are you sure, do you have any reference to the rules for this? It seems strange because using a spell means that the monster cannot retaliate, so if the spell fizzles because of the immunity then in fact nothing would really happen. I wonder if the wizard would loose the spell card then? – Bazzz Dec 26 '13 at 10:01
You are correct that a wizard takes no damage when failing with a spell, but still loses the spell. There are - monsters for things other than spells though too. – bwarner Dec 26 '13 at 10:24
Your link seems dead. Mind updating it? – Bazzz Dec 26 '13 at 11:26
Its a PDF, so it probably won't work on phones and such. Sorry, I don't know of a better location to link to the rules. I got it from – bwarner Dec 26 '13 at 13:07
Is "New Dungeon" the same thing as "Dungeon!"? – user1873 Dec 26 '13 at 16:01

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.