Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Twilight Imperium 3rd ed you may get a technology advance that lets your PDS fire to a system adjacent to the one that contains them: The Deep Space Cannons.

The rules of firing in their same system stand but there is one extra scenario not described in the rules:

  • If the enemy is at distance 2 and moves to an adjacent system, passing through an adjacent system will the PDS fire once or twice? (Meaning, will they fire once the enemy enters the first adjacent system and once more once the enemy reaches the destination adjacent system?)

Of course, what if the enemy is moving to the system that contains the PDS, would they shoot twice?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

I'm not claiming an authoritative answer, but when playing recently the rule we followed is the activation rule -- the adjacent PDS may fire into a system that has been activated. So, in your scenario, the PDS would fire only one time.

From the TI3 Rule book (page 29):

When a player activates a system in range of an enemy PDS unit, the owners of any enemy PDS units in range may, after the movement step of the Activation Sequence, fire once per PDS at any units in the system owned by the activating player. Note that when firing your PDS units during another player's activation, you may only fire at the units controlled by the activating player. It is thus not possible to draw third party PDS fire at an enemy fleet by simply activating its system from afar.

Although I haven't sussed this out with my gaming group, I imagine a transfer action would invoke two opportunities for an adjacent PDS if the system holding the PDS is adjacent to both transfer-action-activated systems.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.