Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

It is possible to end a game of Cosmic Encounter with 6 colonies (i.e. Parasite wild flare). The rules for the FFG version of Cosmic Encounter state that:

The winner(s) are the first player(s) to have five colonies on any planets outside his or her home system . . . It is possible, through alliances and successful negotiations, to have more than one player gain five colonies at the same time. In this case, the players share a win.

This could be interpreted to mean 5 or more colonies, but the rules do not specifically say that. A devious tactic could be to invite someone along as ally to each achieve a 5th planet simultaneously, but then because the parasite flare was played the attacker ends with 6 colonies vs. the ally's 5 colonies.

So . . . who wins if the game ends with one player having 6 colonies and 1 or more players with 5 colonies?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

I believe this is entirely up for player interpretation, but my opinion is: since Cosmic Encounter doesn't have rules for tie-breaking, and since situations where several player meet the victory conditions is interpreted as a shared victory - one player having MORE than 5 colonies is completely identical to this player having 5 colonies, thus he will share a victory with the players that have five colonies.

share|improve this answer
add comment
up vote 5 down vote accepted

I received the following e-mailed answer from Jonathan Bove of FFG:

Since all of the players fulfilled the victory condition at the same time, it is a joint victory. However, this shouldn't stop the player with 6 colonies from bragging about his or her intergalactic skills!

Since this is direct from FFG, I will take this to be the official answer.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.