Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I recently got the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game and have played a few games, but have a clarifying question about how many cards can be used for a combat check.

I understand that according to the rules only one of each card type can be used for a particular check, but can a person use a "weapon" and a "spell" that each can be used for a combat check?

So far, I've been playing using only one card type that says "For a combat check...", but I want to make sure that's correct.

share|improve this question

The rules can be tricky to find stuff in, but it's there: page 11, under the heading Determine Which Die You're Using, second paragraph:

[Y]ou may play only 1 card or use only 1 power that changes the skill you are going to use.

So yes, you're playing correctly.

share|improve this answer

Yes. As a matter of fact, as an example, it's how my Seoni maximizes her damage output with her fireballs. I first discard a card to trigger the power.

I can then do all of the following...

  • Reveal the Sage's Journal, an Item, to add 1d4, if I'm in combat against a Henchman or Villain.
  • Recharge an Acolyte, an Ally, to add yet another 1d4 to the check, since it uses my Arcane die.
  • Discard a Blessing of the Gods to add yet another Arcane die.

It makes her insanely powerful, but if I keep doing it, I'll burn through cards... and Seoni's deck size is small enough as it is.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.