Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Prosperity, the rules for scoring Research say:

Research: each player moves a number of spaces in both Research tracks equal to the number of Research symbols visible on their individual board. For each track, the player with the highest marker scores 3 Prosperity points, the second player scores 1 point. In case of a tie for the first place, all leading players gain 2 points (and no points are awarded for second place).

The Prosperity board has only a limited number of spaces on the two Research tracks. What happens if during scoring a player reaches the end of the track? Do they count the 'extra' steps for the purpose of determining first place, or would several players at the end of the track each be tied?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

I found the official answer on BGG:

The space with the magnifying glass is the top space, and you cannot move beyond it. If more than one player reaches the top space, they are tied.

share|improve this answer
Yup that's correct, though i have to ask... don't you find Prosperity suffers from Monopoly syndrome? i.e. Buy up all the cards that award Prosperity points, and you can't lose! – MK78 Jan 4 '14 at 14:18
@MK78 - I haven't found that. Obviously those cards are crucial, but it's the timing that matters most. You can't just buy Prosperity symbols and ignore research or ecology, for example. – ire_and_curses Jan 4 '14 at 15:36

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.