Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So normally in tournaments you're restricted to a max of four identical cards per deck but can you, with wishes, get, into your hand, a fifth Force of Will, or a second Yawgmoth's Will or something?

share|improve this question
1  
if you have 4 wishes and 3 of the card in your mainboard and 1 in your sideboard, it's as though you had seven –  Sam I am Jan 6 at 21:33
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 10 down vote accepted

In tournaments "outside the game" as stated on the wishes only consists of your sideboard. The maximum of 4 of one card rule extends to your sideboard. So your deck + sideboard can only have 4 of one card, so NO you can't have a 5th card this way in tournaments.

share|improve this answer
    
The errata said that wishes pull from your sideboard but I didn't know the maximum of four of one card rule extended to it. Thanks! –  neubert Jan 6 at 8:03
4  
@neubert, There's no such errata. There is such a rule, though. Certain cards refer to “a (card or cards) you own from outside the game.” In tournament play, a card “you own from outside the game" is a card in that player’s sideboard --Tournament Rules –  ikegami Jan 6 at 14:40
1  
And the deck construction rules of every official offline formats allowing a sideboard includes the following: With the exception of basic land cards, a player’s combined deck and sideboard may not contain more than four of any individual card, counted by its English card title equivalent. –  ikegami Jan 6 at 14:43
1  
@GendoIkari Yes you can. The 4 card rule applies only to the construction of your deck. If somehow during gameplay you get a fifth card there is no rule preventing that. –  Ivo Beckers Jan 6 at 15:32
1  
@neubert, Those rulings aren't always correct or up to date. My reference, the actual rules, is much stronger. –  ikegami Jan 6 at 15:51
show 2 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.