Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Player A has a Wrecking Ogre (4/4 double strike) and decides to use the Bloodrush ability of Ghor-Clan Rampager, so now the Wrecking Ogre is a 7/7 with Double Strike + Trample.

If Player B decides to block it with 3 2/2 creatures, on the first combat, Wrecking Ogre's power will be down to 1/1,and that 1/1 will go to the player because it has trample.

My concern is about the second strike of wrecking ogre. Since there are no more blockers, will it deal 7/7 damage or 1/1 damage?

And if wrecking ogre is blocked by 2 5/5 creatures? Will it be dead before it can attack again? Will the Trample and Double Strike will be useless?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by Jefromi, David Z, Pablo, bengoesboom, Lance Roberts Jan 13 at 4:48

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

    
    
Given that you seem to have a bit of confusion about what power, toughness, and damage are, you may want to go back and read the basic rulebook (pdf), since there could be other basic things you've overlooked. –  Jefromi Jan 7 at 19:26
    
Voting to NOT close. I would not consider the answer to the linked question adequate for this question. –  ikegami Jan 7 at 19:37
1  
Regardless of what the existing answer to the other question says, I think someone who reads and understands an adequate answer to that question would then be able to figure out this one, so I do think it's a duplicate. –  David Z Jan 7 at 21:47
1  
That's not what this question is about, though. It's an unrelated misconception that user6555 has. –  David Z Jan 8 at 2:54

2 Answers 2

It's power and toughness never change. It's never 1/1 or 1/7 or 7/1. It's 7/7 throughout. It merely gains marked damage.

In the first Combat Damage Step, the Ogre assigns 7 damage. It will assign and deal 2 damage two each of the 2/2[1] (and kills them) and 1 to the player.

In the second Combat Damage Step, the Ogre assigns 7 damage. It will assign and deal 7 damage the player.

If the damage it did the second step was reduced by the damage it did in the first step, it would never deal any in the second as a creature always deals its power in damage.


and if wrecking ogre is blocked by 2 5/5 creature?

Only creatures with First Strike or Double Strike participate in the First Strike combat damage step.

Assuming these 5/5 have neither,

  • First strike combat damage step: Ogre deals 5 to one 5/5 (and kills it) and 2 to the other (which survives with 2 damage).

  • Normal strike combat damage step: Ogre deals 3 to the remaining 5/5 (and kills it) and 4 to the defender. The 5/5 deals 5 to the Ogre (which survives with 5 damage).


  1. It's possible to assign more, but there's rarely a reason to assign more than the minimum.
share|improve this answer
    
Initially overlooked your second question. Added answer. –  ikegami Jan 7 at 17:51
    
Your opening clarification is good, but might not go far enough: the question says "...power will be down to 1/1...", suggesting that the OP may be thinking of toughness as part of power. –  Jefromi Jan 7 at 19:28
    
I assumed he just spoke loosely and that he know the number of on the left of the / is its power and the number of the right of the / is its toughness. If he didn't, he knows now. –  ikegami Jan 7 at 19:35
    
It's been a while but unless the blockers have banding can't you just assign all the damage to one creature which would cause more trample damage to the player? So in this case instead of doing 1 + 7 damage you could do 5 + 5 damage and only kill 2 creatures instead of 3? –  Joe W Jan 7 at 20:56
    
@JoeW Nope. CR702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. […edit out for brevity ignore effects that change amount of damage…] The attacking creature's controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case can't assign any damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking. –  ghoppe Jan 7 at 21:13

When a creature in combat has first strike or double strike, there are two combat damage phases. In the first phase, only creatures with first strike and double strike deal damage, and in the second, only creatures without first strike deal damage.

When a creature in combat has trample, all damage past what is necessary to deal lethal damage to all blockers is dealt directly to the defending player.

What this means specifically for your question is:

In the first example, a 7/7 ogre with double strike and trample is blocked by 3 2/2 creatures. In the first combat damage phase, the ogre distributes 2 damage to each blocker and 1 damage to the defending player. Then, in the second combat damage phase, there are no surviving blockers, so the ogre deals all 7 damage to the defending player.

In the second example, the same ogre is blocked by 2 5/5 creatures. In the first combat damage phase, the ogre distributes 5 damage to one of its blockers and 2 to the other, destroying the first one. Then in the second combat damage phase, the ogre distributes 3 damage to the remaining blocker and 4 damage to the defending player, killing the other blocker. The blocker also deals 5 damage to the ogre, which is not enough to destroy it.

share|improve this answer
    
what if one or two of the 5/5 creature has first strike on it,will it kill the ogre before it deal damage to creatures/player? –  user6555 Jan 7 at 17:49
    
One: No, because 5 damage is not enough to kill a 7/7 with no damage. Two: One 5/5 will take 5 damage and die, one 5/5 will take two damage and survive, the Ogre will take 10 damage and die. –  ikegami Jan 7 at 17:55

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.