Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've played my friend and he used his new mono white deck. After some turns, he plays Phyrexian Unlife. This is the first time I've seen it. It says even if his life is 0 he never loses. I'm using black deck at that time and I don't have any sorcery or instants to kill that enchantment. So I just conceded the game. Now I'm still skeptical about that card.

My question is how can you kill your opponent if he has that on the battlefield? I know that there's some other ways to defeat your opponents, but my black deck was built to be aggro/discard deck. So how can a player defeat an opponent without anything to destroy an enchantment?

share|improve this question
    
This isn't enough for its own answer, but Phyrexian Unlife does nothing against infect, mill, Phage the Untouchable, Door to Nothingness, Vraska the Unseen's ultimate, or any card that has "you win the game" as an effect. –  murgatroid99 Jan 9 at 1:25
    
Phyrexian Unlife doesn't say "you can't lose if you have 0 or less life." It says "Having 0 or less life doesn't kill you (like it usually does)" –  3Doubloons Jan 10 at 4:26
add comment

2 Answers

The full card text is:

You don't lose the game for having 0 or less life.

As long as you have 0 or less life, all damage is dealt to you as though its source had infect. (Damage is dealt to you in the form of poison counters.)

If you have ten poison counters, you lose the game. You just need to get your opponent to zero, then deal ten more damage to him. He'll take it in the form of poison counters, and lose. It will buy him time - maybe he was almost dead and suddenly you need to get him to 0 then deal ten more damage - but he's not invincible.

share|improve this answer
    
relevant as the asker is playing black - cards that cause loss of life do not cause poison counters. –  Patters Mar 31 at 8:37
add comment

The second half of that card is important. It says that when you are under 0 life you treat all damage as though its source had infect. That means you get a poison counter for each damage, and if you reach 10 poison counters, you lose. So basically it gives you an additional 10 life to deal with (assuming no other infect sources), but it doesn't keep you alive indefinitely.

share|improve this answer
9  
"basically it gives you an additional 10 life to deal with" -- Well, usually a bit more than 10. If the Unlife player is at 1 life and you hit him for 11, he'll be at -10 life and any further damage will add poison counters. –  Brian S Jan 8 at 17:37
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.