Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Yesterday I bought the Carcassonne board game and it comes with the mini-expansion The River.

I read the rules but they don't clarify whether the removed/replaced first tile is removed from the game or mixed with the other tiles for future use after the 12 river tiles are played.

What do you do with the original game's start tile when playing The River?

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to B&CG Stack Exchange! –  Alex P Jan 9 at 17:21
    
Thanks for the edition Alex P, the English is not my main languaje –  David Owen Jan 9 at 17:39
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 7 down vote accepted

If you're playing with the River (or the River II) don't play with the start tile from the basic game - it has a different coloured back and so will stand out during the tile draw.

share|improve this answer
    
So what do you start with? And what are the ramifications of starting with the original tile verses the accepted alternative? And what should happen to the original tile? –  corsiKa Jan 9 at 18:39
1  
@corsiKa The entire point of the River mini-expansion is that it provides an alternative start (you start with one end of the river and build the river from there, before using the regular tiles). Not playing with the original start tile means just setting it aside (as opposed to mixing it in with the bag of other tiles for the rest of the game). –  Jefromi Jan 9 at 19:28
    
@corsiKa, it is exactly as Jefromi explained. You start with the spring end of the river. –  Jackson Pope Jan 10 at 9:48
add comment

I accept the answer, but doing a little bit research, I found in the Complete Annotated Rules the following:

The original starting tile can either be mixed into the stack of river tiles, or placed as soon as the river has been completed, and is treated like a normal tile.

And an additional house rule:

Mix the original starting tile (without a river) in with the river tiles. If it is drawn then it acts like a 'bonus' tile that can be placed anywhere.

share|improve this answer
1  
What's a CAR? Is it something official? –  Jefromi Jan 9 at 19:27
    
Maybe are not official, are Complete Annotated Rules published in that page, I have curiosity because are mentioned in boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/7427/… but the link in the answer is broken. –  David Owen Jan 9 at 19:34
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.