Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Archipelago, say you have already played all your action discs, but for an arbitrary reason you did not use your ports or markets. Does this means you cannot use them anymore in this action phase?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

You cannot use the ports or markets if you have no action disks left to play.

The easy way to think about this is:

On your turn:

  • Place one of your action disks on the board and take that action
  • (Before or After you place your action disk)
    • Use one Evolution card (optional)
  • (Before or After you place your action disk)
    • Pay one coin to use a port or a market (optional)
    • You can use each market or port you own once per round, and only one per turn.

So if you don't have any action markers, you won't be able to use a port/market.

share|improve this answer

Ok, found the answer to that in the manual, page 8.

Players continue playing rounds until all players have used up their action discs or cannot play anything; then they proceed to phase 6.

So, yes, you can still use a market or port, if you're able to.

share|improve this answer
up vote 0 down vote accepted

It seems I might've misunderstood the rules. The correct answer, I think, is you can't!

In page 8, you read:

[...]each player plays one round by placing one of his action discs (AD) on the action wheel and performing the corresponding action. Players continue playing rounds until all players have used up their action discs or cannot play anything; then they proceed to phase 6.

The concept of round is important here. A player has a round "until all players have used up their action disks or cannot play anything".

In page 12, you read:

Each player can use one port or market during each of his rounds.

This means that you can only use market or ports once per round if you have a round. Therefore, you can't use them after your action disks have finished.

Likewise, this is extensible to evolution cards (page 14):

Each player can use one evolution card during each of his rounds.

share|improve this answer
    
You can edit or delete your answers at any time; it's usually better to edit your answer than to create a new one. –  Paul Marshall Aug 20 at 17:29
    
Thank you for the heads up. I decided to write another post because the truth is I'm still interpreting what I read and I believe there is still the possibility that I'm wrong. So I thought I should let people vote (if they wish to do that) in the answer they agree with. –  Ramiro Aug 20 at 20:46

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.