Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

According to a comment in the discussion of Argothian Elder:

Argothian Elder plus Maze of Ith provides infinite mana during your attack phase.

How is that? In order for Argothian Elder to attack it has to tap, per rule 508.1f, and if Argothian Elder is tapped it can't be tapped again to activate the ability.

If you could attack and tap to active abilities simultaneously, it'd work, but I don't think you can.

So is the comment wrong or am I wrong?

share|improve this question
2  
The key thing here is that untapping the attacking elder does not make him stop attacking. Thus he can be targted by the maze multiple times during your attack phase. –  Colin D Jan 10 at 17:13

2 Answers 2

up vote 8 down vote accepted

You don't need to tap them simultaneously for this to work. Once you have declared Argothian Elder as an attacker, you can do the following:

1: Tap Maze of Ith to untap Argothian Elder

2: Tap Argothian Elder to untap Maze of Ith and another land.

3: Tap that other land for mana.

4: Repeat as much as you want.

share|improve this answer

you use maze of ith to untap him.

then you use argothian elder to untap maze of ith, and one extra land.

then you float a mana with that extra land, and repeat the process. the result is 1 extra mana for free.

you can do this as much as you want.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.