Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Is there anything that can be done against a Stigma Lasher if you have a life gain deck?

This card seems quite broken. 2 mana for a 2/2 wither is a good card. But to have it ruin any hope of lifegain for the rest of the game seems unfair. (The rulings say that you still cannot gain life even if you kill Stigma Lasher.)

I was planning to build a life gain deck to counter my friends burn deck. But that seems pointless now.

He can add a few of these and some cards like Soul's Fire or Power of Fire (letting a creature damage a player without a chance to block) and I will be done for the rest of the game.

Is there any way to remove the effect of Stigma Lasher once it has done combat damage?

share|improve this question
"Do I have any hope?" Of course you do. It's a 2/2 2-drop without haste. Just kill it before it can do its thing. – Alex P Jan 11 '14 at 23:22
Circle of protection: red could be usefull against burn and stigma lasher – Ivo Beckers Jan 12 '14 at 0:44
In general, for any particular strategy, there's probably a card out there somewhere that totally hoses it. If your opponent is trying to beat just your deck, this kind of thing will happen. – Jefromi Jan 12 '14 at 20:05
How about instead of building a lifegain deck, you build a regular creature deck that can gain some life with things like thragtusk(now only $2) and kitchen finks. That way, playing stigma lasher will be underwhelming – Sam I am Jan 22 '15 at 17:20

There is no way to remove the effect, but you could play around it.

Transcendence prevents you from losing for having negative life, but instead you lose for having 20+ life (which you no longer have to worry about).

share|improve this answer
You can do some interesting things with Lich effects too, but that requires a B/W deck. – user1873 Jan 12 '14 at 1:28
Transcendence doesn't seem like a very good card in a life gain deck except as a hard counter to a Stigma Lasher based burn deck. Actually, there's never a point when having life gain will help you while transcendence is on the field. – murgatroid99 Jan 12 '14 at 2:35
@murgatroid99, Sideboard, since it is only useful versus Stigma Lasher – user1873 Jan 12 '14 at 4:53
The problem I see is that sideboarding it in would devalue the life-gain cards in your deck. – murgatroid99 Jan 12 '14 at 4:56
If the deck was a life gain Lich deck, it would be unaffected by Stigma lasher. Transcendence would be key to the deck as well. The OP hasn't said what kind of life gain deck they are making. – user1873 Jan 12 '14 at 5:10

Stigma Lasher's effect cannot be removed while the game is still going on — so, obviously, the only way around it is to abandon the current game and replace it with a new one by using Karn Liberated's third ability, which gets rid of the effect and also everything you've accomplished so far.

share|improve this answer

No. Effects that say "until the end of the game" are never removed or negated by any other effect.

More specifically, when Stigma Lasher deals damage to a player, the triggered ability creates a continuous effect. This effect is not attached to any permanent or targetable game object, so there are no Magic cards that will enable you to gain life after that effect resolves.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.