Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Say I have a spell like Victimize that says, among other things "choose two target creature cards in your graveyard"... what if I only have one creature card in my graveyard? Can I still cast the spell? Do I need to have two valid legal targets to actually cast the spell?

share|improve this question
Additional note: You can't target the same object twice by a single instance of the word "target". – ikegami Jan 13 '14 at 14:06
up vote 8 down vote accepted

No, you can't. You need to specify all targets. It would say "up to two targets" if you could target less. That is also for example the downside of the card Hex.

share|improve this answer
And to see "up to" in action, see Cruel Revival, which is deliberately worded so that you can kill something without needing a zombie to get back. – Chad Miller Jan 13 '14 at 4:07

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.