Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

There is an Encounter card that was drawn that caused Stamina damage. The player has a spell that negates any Stamina damage at the cost of one Sanity if roll is successful.

If that roll fails is the player able to re-roll until they are successful or lose all Sanity?

In addition to that, if the current Environment effect is Planetary Alignment which reduces all spell Sanity cost by one it would make the Sanity cost zero. In this case would the player be able to roll until successful with infinite chances?

share|improve this question
It's best to name the actual spell, since in general the wording on cards matters. I'm guessing you're talking about Flesh Ward, which reads "Any Phase: Cast and exhaust to ignore all Stamina loss being dealt to you from one source. Discard this spell if the Ancient One awakens." – Jefromi Jan 13 '14 at 18:17
I believe that's it. I will have to double check when I get home from work and edit it in. – riv_rec Jan 13 '14 at 18:21
Okay. In this case, I don't think it matters, since all the spells say "cast and exhaust", but in general it's helpful! – Jefromi Jan 13 '14 at 18:22
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, you get only once chance.

The key phrase is "cast and exhaust". An exhausted card can't be used again until it's un-exhausted during the next turn's upkeep. And the spell is exhausted whether or not you succeed at casting it.

The rules are a little bit fuzzy on this, but this official FAQ has a pretty clear answer:

Does an unsuccessful attempt to cast a spell still exhaust it?


share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.