Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I have a Witchbane Orb, then I (the player) have hexproof.

  • Are permanents I control also hexproof? Or am I only hexproof from abilities that target me specifically?
  • Can a card like Wrath of God be used to destroy creatures with hexproof, because it is not targeting the creature(s)?
share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

You are the only one protected from opponent's spells that target you with a witchbane orb. Saying a player is hex proof is not the same as saying all of their permanents are hex proof as well.

As for wrath of god and other 'All creatures' or 'all players' spells. Since there is no targeting hex proof does not protect a creature from Wrath of God. Indestructible would protect a creature from wrath of god, but not hex proof.


Looking at Comp rule 114.1a a definition for targeted is made. It says that the verbiage 'target [something]' is the indicator that a spell is targeted.

Looking at 702.11 the definition for hex proof says a permanent can't be the target of a spell. meaning it can't be targeted.

So a Wrath Of God that says 'Destroy All Creatures' is not considered a targeted spell and thus is not hampered by hex proof.

Furthermore looking at 114.9a it is clarified that just because a spell or ability can affect objects and players they don't target does not mean they have atrgeted that player or object.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks mate, clears a lot of things up –  james Golding Jan 14 at 15:28
2  
I blame True-Name Nemesis for muddling this all up in the first place. –  Alex P Jan 14 at 17:48

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.