Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Say I have a Shapesharer copy an opponents Verdant Force. The Verdant Force puts a 1/1 green Saproling creature token onto the battlefield at the beginning of each upkeep. The Shapesharer becomes a copy of target creature until your next turn.

So if I copy my opponents Verdant Force on my turn I'm going to assume that I only get one saproling token and not two? ie. I'd get one for his upkeep but not for mine?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The earliest chance you would have to activate Shapesharer's ability is in the Upkeep step[1]. Since the beginning of your upkeep step has already gone by, the ability gained from Verdant Force will never get a chance to trigger on your turn[2].


  1. The Untap step comes first, but you do not gain priority during the Uptap step, so you do not get to activate abilities in the Untap step.

  2. If you have more than one Upkeep steps for some reason (e.g. Paradox Haze), and if you activated Shapesharer's ability in the first Upkeep step, the ability it gained from Verdant Force would trigger in the second and subsequent Upkeep steps.

share|improve this answer

Yes, that is correct. Upkeep is the first phase of a turn, so when your turn next comes around, the only upkeep that would have occured is your opponents (assuming 1v1)

share|improve this answer
1  
Upkeep is not a phase, and it's not the first step –  ikegami Jan 15 at 16:18
    
I had always assumed that untapping was part of the upkeep –  link64 Jan 15 at 21:53
2  
Nope; untap, upkeep and draw are three distinct steps during your beginning phase. If your upkeep involves tapping stuff, you can't then untap it, so the distinction is pretty important! –  Jonathan Hobbs Jan 15 at 22:02
1  
Another notable distinction: you can't put anything on the stack in the untap step. Essentially, nothing (except untapping) actually happens until upkeep. (See for example the new Inspired mechanic in Born of the Gods.) –  Jefromi Jan 16 at 0:46
    
Thanks for clarifying –  link64 Jan 16 at 4:41

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.