Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was playing white and I had one pawn at a7 and the other at a6. My opponent didn't let me promote the pawn to a Queen stating that when two pawns are in the same column then the pawn doesn't get promoted.

Is this correct? If so, then what happens to a pawn which reaches a8? Does that become useless?

enter image description here

share|improve this question
I've never heard if that rule, and looking at it doesn't seem to be listed... – Nick Jan 17 '14 at 10:24
btw: if you had a pawn on a7 and a pawn on a6 they're on the same file (or column) not the same row – crownjewel82 Jan 17 '14 at 15:47

Your friend was wrong. There is no rule preventing a pawn from being promoted outside the normal move restriction rules (e.g. you can't leave your king in check).

share|improve this answer

I am a chess arbiter and I can confirm that this rule does not exist whatsoever in the FIDE rules of chess. The only restriction to promotion is if it's an illegal move.

share|improve this answer

Some players will do anything to try to prevent them losing...

From the position above, white promotes and black may as well resign. White can make a 2nd queen and give one of them up if necessary to prevent black's attack with the d and e pawns. You won't even need to do that though. If black moves Ke4 his pawn on d5 is pinned, if he plays d5-d4 you go Qf3+ and if he plays Ke6 you just go Qc6+. Anything else and you just capture on d5.

share|improve this answer

There is never any difference in restrictions when a pawn queens, regarding pawns in the same file behind it. (Of course you can't overtake the pawn in front) [my rating: 1920]

share|improve this answer
Difference between what? I'm not sure how this is responding to the question. – doppelgreener Nov 22 '14 at 3:27
Sorry for not being clear. There is never any difference in restrictions when a pawn queens, regarding pawns in the same file behind it. – z0mbi3 Nov 22 '14 at 15:53

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.