Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have March of the Machines and Soul Warden on the battlefield, what happens when I cast a non-creature artifact like Azorius Signet? When exactly does the card type change?

share|improve this question
One could call the argument irrelevant because the deck with march of the machines and soul warden will lose to just about anything but catacomb slug. :-) – corsiKa Jan 20 '14 at 15:29
The signet will come into play as a creature and trigger the wardens ability. – Neil Meyer Jan 21 '14 at 12:31
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Soul Warden's ability will trigger.

603.6d Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. [...]

That means it's the types the Signet has on the battlefield that are checked by Soul Warden's triggered ability.

604.1. Static abilities do something all the time rather than being activated or triggered. They are written as statements, and they’re simply true.

That means there isn't a moment that a non-creature artifact on the battlefield is not affected by March of the Machine.

As such, the Signet is seen as a creature by Soul Warden's triggered ability, and it will trigger.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.