Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In King of Tokyo, when a monster dies does the effects of shrink counters or poison counters placed by that monster still apply, or do those counters fall away with the eliminated monster ?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

There are no rules that say effects that originated from a monster go away once that particular monster has perished, so they persist.

Other than being logical it saves on bookkeeping too, otherwise you'd need to track who gave you which counter because powers can be stolen and multiple monsters may have given you a counter from the same power...

share|improve this answer

We're not talking about an effect requiring ongoing effort (e.g. Killing Magneto would allow Wolverine to move again), we're talking about a permanent physical change (e.g. Killing a snake doesn't neutralized poison it previously injected into you).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.