Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Forthcoming Nessian Demolok has the following abilities.

Tribute 3 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may place three +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Nessian Demolock enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, destroy target noncreature permanent.

Assuming the reminder text is complete and accurate, what happens if you cast Clone choosing a Nessian Demolok? Specifically, does your opponent get a chance to pay tribute?


By the letter of the rules, choices for "As this permanent enters the battlefield" occur before the permanent the battlefield[CR 614.12a], but doesn't Clone's replacement effect happens at the point it enters the battlefield?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Yes, your opponent gets a chance to pay the Tribute. From the Clone rulings:

Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Clone enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.

This is the same behavior as when you Clone a Triskelion; the Clone will get 3 +1/+1 counters.

share|improve this answer
    
duh, should have checked the rulings! That's what I thought, but the rule wordings is flaky. (The choices supposedly happen before the permanent enters the field, but the replacement effect should only come into when it does...) –  ikegami Jan 22 at 14:27
    
What happens if you clone a Marath? I assume it checks for the cost of the clone? –  Milo Gertjejansen Jan 23 at 5:11
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.