Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I can read in the manual that the active player plays first whenever there's a decision about who first resolves an action.

But in this case, what if many players have MULTIPLE cards that can be played? That is with the description 'play before a base scores'

Would each player have to play all the cards he wishes to play? Or could he play one, wait for others to decide what to play and then play the next?

It happened to me with I think the Cthulu faction, there's a minion that lets you draw a madness card for extra power; if you have played several it makes a huge diference since waiting for other players is what decides how many madness cards you'd get

share|improve this question
The rules for the Cthulhu set explain this under Me First!(page 7). Players play in turn order, starting with the current players turn. When all players pass, resolve the base scoring. If someone didn't pass, you can always choose to play another card. (Note: if the card in question is Cthulhu's Chosen, it can only draw a single Madness card to increase its power from 3 to 5.) – user1873 Jan 23 '14 at 15:39
up vote 2 down vote accepted

From the rule book :

Page 6

Me First! If more than one player wants to use a Special ability, start with the current player and go around the table clockwise until all players pass in sequence (if you pass and another player uses a Special, you can then still choose to use a Special of your own). If your Special allows you to play extra cards, you must play those immediately or not at all.

So each player may play one card until everyone is done.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.