Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If some units rout and are able to retreat in to a territory that has an unoccupied castle or stronghold, does that castle count as captured immediately? Or do you need to wait until the next turn when the routed units are able to 'stand up' again?

The reason I ask is that on the final turn (i.e. no chance for routed units to stand), this ruling can have an effect on the number of castles and hence, who wins the game

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes, even routed units immediately control the areas they occupy.

According to the FFG rule book,

Controlling Areas - A House is said to control a land area when it has at least one Footman, Knight, or Siege Engine in the area, or has previously established control in that area by placing a Power token there (see below).

share|improve this answer
"Immediately" is important because user link64 specifically asked about this. If the retreating units control a territory that causes its player to achieve victory, the game ends as soon as the retreating is complete. There is no waiting for the next turn. – Ramiro Jan 24 '14 at 13:48
you're right. I agree. – Ramiro Jan 24 '14 at 15:00

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.