Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The definition for interaction in netrunner seems a tad vague and I was hoping to clear up some points. I know you can run through ice and accept subroutines if you do not have the appropriate ice breaker. You choose not to interact and bypass the ice but suffer the consequences.

Can you still do this if you have no programs installed as the runner? For example, couldn't I, without any programs, make 4 runs on my first turn? Even if the corp put down 3 ice on their turn, Most likely they will not or cannot rez them all. This gives me several, maybe even four succesful runs on my first turn.

Is this possible?

share|improve this question
    
If the top of R&D is a piece of ice, then four runs on turn 1 isn't going to do much! –  The Chaz 2.0 Jan 31 at 16:50
    
Right but after the first run then you would stop running on R&D –  johnsoe Jan 31 at 17:32

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

You are correct! No icebreaker is required to make a run. So yes, the mantra: run early, run often! On the first turn, it is usually good to put some pressure on a central server that isn't well defended (either HQ or R&D).

However: some decks will punish you for this (especially Jinteki), as they have cards that can hurt you when accessed from R&D or HQ (Snare, Shock, et cetera). Also, you can run naked (no ICEBREAKERS) even against servers that have ICE... and you might be successful if the corp doesn't rez them or if they don't have any "end the run" subroutines. Again, that can be pretty dangerous though (watch out for Neural Katanas).

Most corp players will expect this though - if you are Criminal, they will generally defend HQ on turn 1 (to stop Account Siphons); if you are Shaper, they will typically put some ICE on R&D (to try and prevent Maker's Eye runs).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.