Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Snare! says ,"If accessed from R&D the runner must reveal it". It then allows the corp to pay 4 coin to give 3 net damage and add a tag. It also mentions to ignore this affect if Snare! is accessed from Archives.

This confuses me a little because I am not sure what to do if the card is accessed from a remote server or from HQ. Do you still get the option to give damage and a tag if it is accessed? Why then would it specifically mention R&D if there is no difference than HQ or a remote server?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Normally the Corp doesn't get to see what cards the runner accesses from R&D. This would mean the corp wouldn't know they could spend 4C to deal the damage! When accessed from HQ or a remote server, the Corp already knows what the card is, and so can pay 4C to deal the damage.

By making the runner reveal the card when accessed from R&D, the corp gets a chance to choose to use the ability on Snare!

The effect triggers when accessed from anywhere other than archives.

share|improve this answer
    
Excellent thank you! –  johnsoe Jan 31 at 21:42
    
You could contrast this with "Shock", which was just printed in True Colours. Shock has the same sort of text (if accessed from R&D the runner must reveal), but it doesn't have the caveat about archives... meaning: it still causes net damage even when accessed from the archives (in addition to when it is accessed from R&D, your hand, or a remote server)! Throw 3 of them facedown in the archives (with a SEA Source and Scorched Earth in hand, or maybe a Punitive Counterstrike if there are actually agendas in there too). and you've just ruined a runner's day. –  Twitch_City Feb 1 at 1:40
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.