Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I summon a creature with the flash rule in my opponent's turn as a response to their attack is it able to block?

Or is it suffering from summoning sickness and can't do anything?

share|improve this question
Judge's Corner on Youtube has a wonderful video covering Summoning Sickness. I strongly recommend watching the entire series if you are new and want to understand the deeper mechanics of the game. – Rainbolt Feb 7 '14 at 14:57
up vote 4 down vote accepted

If you flash the creature in during the Declare Attackers step or earlier, you can block with that creature. You can do it after attackers are declared, but it's too late once blockers have been declared.

"Summoning sickness" prevents three things:

  • Declaring the sick creature as an attacker.
  • Activating abilities of a sick creature with the tap symbol (aka {T}) in their cost.
  • Activating abilities of a sick creature with the untap symbol (aka {Q}) in their cost.

Blocking is permitted.

share|improve this answer
I never knew that summoning sickness prevented you from using abilities with the untap symbol in their cost. Though I've never personally played with any such cards. – GendoIkari Feb 7 '14 at 14:41

It would have summoning sickness but that doesn't prevent being able to block. Summonning sickness only deals with being able to use abilities with the (un)tap symbol and declaring as attackers. So yes, you can block with it.

share|improve this answer

Summoning sickness means it can't be tapped. You can still use it to block an attacking creature. Just remember to flash it in at the end of the declare attackers step!

share|improve this answer
Summoning sickness does not prevent tapping. e.g. You can Twiddle a creature with summoning sickness. You can even tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay the cost of Aboshan, Cephalid Emperor's ability. – ikegami Feb 7 '14 at 14:44
I think people internally think of "attack or activate an ability with the tap symbol in its cost" as "tap" (as in the creature taps itself, as opposed to "become tapped") because the former phrase is so long. It's unfortunate that the precise wording is impractically long in this case. – Jefromi Feb 7 '14 at 17:34
@Jefromi, Makes sense, but you gotta be more precise when speaking as an authority (e.g. when answering a rules question). – ikegami Feb 8 '14 at 16:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.