Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When a player plays his first piece, does it have to cover the corner square? For example, can one play his X piece as first piece?

share|improve this question
I'm not the only Blokus player? :-D Yay!!! – corsiKa Feb 8 '14 at 19:50
up vote 7 down vote accepted

According to the rues, "The first piece played by each player must cover a corner square." They show an example of an illegal first move, as a piece that "surrounds" the corner without touching it, like an X would. This does mean that the X cannot ever be the first piece.

share|improve this answer
How can an X be the first piece? Any way you turn it, there's no way you can fit it in a corner. – bigblind Feb 8 '14 at 17:40
I said that it CAN'T ever be the first piece. – GendoIkari Feb 9 '14 at 20:43
oh, sorry. I misread. – bigblind Feb 10 '14 at 7:39

The X is the only piece which cannot be played first.

There is also a smaller (14x14 board) version of the game for 2 colors, called Duo, or sometimes Travel Blokus, and the starting point for that is 5 squares in from the corner on the diagonal.

In that game any piece can be played first, and the X is often chosen.

share|improve this answer
+1 for mentioning the different rules in the 2-player version. – bwarner Jul 9 '14 at 13:13

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.