Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In game of thrones, if I attacked the opponent with army of several units, and I used all of them to make sure to win. Should I also move all the units to the conquered territory in case of victory or I can choose to leave some units in their position?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, you already moved those troops during the March Orders step.

The rule book indicates that all troops are moved or not moved during the March Order, before combat begins. If you wanted to leave some troops behind, you need to do so before you begin combat and you cannot add those units to your combat strength.

-When a player moves one or more units into an area containing units from another house, he starts a combat as the attacker. See rules for combat on page 17.

-Before resolving combat, all other non-combat movement from the area assigned the March Order must be completed.

This is further supported by the rules for retreating on page 21. The retreating units are currently in the embattled area, and must retreat back to the area they marched from.

If the attacker lost the combat, his surviving units must retreat back to the area from which they marched.

share|improve this answer
1  
The only way I can see someone getting this wrong, is years of playing Risk incorrectly and applying those mistakes here. The rules for GoT are pretty clear on this matter. –  user1873 Feb 10 at 15:34

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.