Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know that for the most part you can only play one land per turn. However I also know that it is possible to put multiple lands onto the field with the effects of certain spells. I want to know if there are any limitations or certain situations where you cannot do this. I am especially curious about lands that have a tap ability to add land to your mana pool (such as New Benalia or Boros Guildgate). Can I play a land from my hand and use their abilities to get two land per turn?

share|improve this question
    
For a situation where a spell lets you put one or more lands onto the battlefield but you can't actually do it, see Worms of the Earth. –  jwodder Feb 15 at 22:35
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Cards don't "add land to your mana pool." They add mana to your mana pool. The little symbols in card text and casting costs represent mana, which you get from tapping your lands (or from other cards like Elvish Mystic, Darksteel Ingot, and Seething Song), not the lands themselves.

New Benalia's ability, "{T}: Add {W} to your mana pool," is actually the same as the ability of a basic Plains card.

From the Comprehensive Rules:

305.6. The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words “basic land type,” it’s referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability “{T}: Add [mana symbol] to your mana pool,” even if the text box doesn’t actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is {W}; for Islands, {U}; for Swamps, {B}; for Mountains, {R}; and for Forests, {G}.

If you have New Benalia and a Plains on the battlefield, you can tap both to make two white mana (like the casting cost for a Precinct Captain), just like if you had two Plains.

Cards that actually put more land into play say things like "Search your library for a basic land card and put that card onto the battlefield tapped" or "You may play an additional land this turn" (e.g. Evolving Wilds and Explore).

share|improve this answer
    
Oh okay. Thank you. I was very confused and this makes a lot more sense than what I thought the card was used for. –  Adam P Feb 13 at 3:08
2  
Does anyone know why they changed Plains from having T:Add W to your mana pool to just a picture of a giant W mana symbol? It seems to cause a lot of confusion! –  Nick Feb 13 at 10:45
2  
The text "Tap to add {W} to your mana pool" was the original text, changed to "{T}: Add {W} to your mana pool" in 3nd edition, and was removed in favor of the giant mana symbols in 6th edition. Have no idea why though. –  Lasse V. Karlsen Feb 13 at 11:21
5  
it looked cooler. –  Pow-Ian Feb 13 at 12:33
2  
There's actually another reason. The tap ability became inherent to the Basic Land type, so the rule text became flavour text. (this allows stuff like "target land becomes a Mountain" to work as expected) –  deworde Feb 18 at 13:51
show 2 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.