Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My understanding is that you can chose to put your commander in the command zone instead of putting it in the graveyard or it being exiled. Putting it in the command zone is a replacement for putting it in the graveyard, so "When X is put in the graveyard" effects don't trigger if you put it in the command zone when it "dies".

However if you put your commander in the graveyard to trigger a "Graveyard effect" on it and your graveyard is subsequently exiled can you put your commander in the command zone rather than exiling it?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, you can put it back into the command zone when it's exiled from your graveyard.

903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.