Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

We had this issue come up in a game last night, and we weren't sure how to handle it. Player A had Welding Jar and another artifact in play. Player B cast Naturalize targeting the Welding Jar. In response, Player A sacrificed Welding Jar to regenerate itself.

Is this possible to do? I understand that Welding Jar is going into the graveyard either way, as sacrificed creatures can't be regenerated, but can Welding Jar legally target itself with it's own ability?

EDIT: If this seems non-sensical, let's assume that Player A has something in play like Furnace Celebration that gives them a benefit for sacrificing the Welding Jar.

share|improve this question
up vote 18 down vote accepted

Welding Jar can target itself.

When you cast a spell or activate an ability, you choose targets (601.2c) before paying costs (601.2g). So the Welding Jar is still on the battlefield when it's time to choose targets, and is a valid target for its own ability.

That ability will fizzle, of course, since you've already put Welding Jar in the graveyard by the time it would resolve.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.