Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question is regarding the 'Curse' Auras from Innistrad block, such as Curse of Exhaustion. When the player enchanted by the Curse dies, what happens to the Curse. Does it remain in play with no actual target or effect?

share|improve this question
    
up vote 5 down vote accepted

The Aura is put into your graveyard due to 303.4b.

303.4b If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard.

Also, if you had two Curse of Exhaustion in play enchanting two players that somehow died simultaneously, both Auras would be put into the graveyard simultaneously, due to this rule:

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority [...], the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. [...]

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.