Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I play The Cheese Stands Alone (or Barren Glory) and destroy my other permanents somehow, will I win the game if I currently have a card suspended? Do that count as a card in play?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Yes, you will win.

702.61b A card is "suspended" if it's in the exile zone, has suspend, and has a time counter on it.

And a ruling on exile:

Exile is a gamezone outside the field of play. It was known as "Removed from the game" before it was renamed in the wake of the Magic 2010 rules update.

share|improve this answer
1  
It may be helpful to reference Barren Glory, which is the same card but has rulings and errata applied to it, since it's not an Unglued card. –  Alex P Feb 14 at 16:52
    
@AlexP I knew there was a card like this, but didn't know its name. Thanks! –  Conor Pender Feb 14 at 16:57
1  
406.1 defines a Exile as being a zone. Much more reliable and a ruling saying the same. –  ikegami Feb 14 at 16:59
    
@Alex P, not quite the same card. BG checks for tokens on the battlefield, and TCSA doesn't. –  ikegami Feb 14 at 17:18
    
@John, Tokens are NOT cards. 108.2 "[...] Tokens aren’t considered cards—even a card that represents a token isn’t considered a card for rules purposes." TCSA, as it stands, only checks for cards, not tokens (just like Bifurcate and Rishadan Pawnshop). If it weren't an Un card, it would very likely have been changed to check for tokens, but there has been no such change. –  ikegami Feb 14 at 18:15

will I win the game if I currently have a card suspended?

Yes.

Do that count as a card in play?

No, "In play" is the old wording of "on the battlefield"[1]. Suspended cards aren't on the battlefield. They are found in the exile zone, so they do not prevent the ability from triggering or resolving.

702.61b A card is "suspended" if it's in the exile zone, has suspend, and has a time counter on it.

The ability checks the following two zones: The battlefield and your hand. Cards in libraries, in graveyards, on the stack, in the ante zone, in the command zone or in other players' hand do not prevent the ability from triggering or resolving.


Bonus:

You can even win with BG on the turn a suspended card "unsuspends". Simply place the suspended card's triggered ability on the stack first and BG's triggered ability on the stack second. BG's triggered ability will resolve before you have a chance to cast the suspended card.


  1. Reference (See 2A) Battlefield.)
share|improve this answer
    
Added to my answer. –  ikegami Feb 14 at 17:25

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.