Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I actually have two questions concerning Conspiracy:

1) If I put the enchantment Conspiracy onto my battlefield, and choose "Wall" for creature type, will all my creatures automatically become "defenders" since walls can't attack?

2) If I have a Mistform Dreamer on the battlefield, and play Conspiracy (and choose Wall for creature type), will the Mistform Dreamer activated ability be able to overwrite Conspiracy's effect, or will the Mistform Dreamer just get an additional creature type besides being a Wall? Or will Conspiracy overwrite Mistform Dreamer activated ability thus making it a Wall only?"

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 5 down vote accepted

1) No; in fact, the creature subtype 'Wall' has long since lost any rules weight, and there's no reason that Walls can't attack other than that they have (either through print or via errata) the 'defender' ability: if a Wall were printed without defender, then it would be able to attack just like any other creature. This is confirmed in the rulings you can find on the Gatherer page for Conspiracy:

8/1/2005 If you choose Wall, then your creatures can still attack because creature types don't confer abilities such as defender (any more than, say, choosing creature type Bird would confer flying).

2) This becomes a bit more complicated. The key notion is the concept of timestamping; you can find the specific details in section 613.6 of the comprehensive rules, but the key pieces are these:

613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with a later timestamp.

613.6a A continuous effect generated by a static ability has the same timestamp as the object the static ability is on, or the timestamp of the effect that created the ability, whichever is later.

613.6b A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability receives a timestamp at the time it’s created.

Because the effect generated by the resolution of Mistform Dreamer's ability to set its creature type is 'newer' than the effect generated by Conspiracy, the subtype change from Conspiracy is applied first, then the subtype change from the Dreamer's own ability, leaving the Mistform Dreamer as whatever subtype you set it with its own ability. But note that this effect will wear off at EOT when the ability is cleaned up, and whenever you haven't activated Mistform Dreamer's ability in a turn, it will be whatever creature type Conspiracy is set to.

share|improve this answer
    
I think i got it now. In fact your answer was what I was leaning towards myself. Regarding my first question I was i doubt, since reading the text on "Mistform Ultimus" said, that even though MU is every creature type, it can still attack as if it wasn't a wall. The text on MD did not have that wording wich lead to my question. –  Jacob Lund Feb 14 at 19:20
    
@JacobLund This is true of the original version, because when MU was printed Wall did still have a rules meaning. The official wording of MU, though, is the one that's seen on the timeshifted reprint in Time Spiral (gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/…) and you can see that it doesn't include that text. In general, I heartily encourage checking Gatherer for the current wording of any card (the so-called Oracle wording: see boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/6349 ) whenever you have a question about how that card works. –  Steven Stadnicki Feb 14 at 19:56
add comment

Question 1. No. from the ruling on gatherer:

8/1/2005 If you choose Wall, then your creatures can still attack because creature types don't confer abilities such as defender (any more than, say, choosing creature type Bird would confer flying).

Question 2. Mistform Dreamer's ability will 'overrwrite' the effect of Conspiracy (rule 613: Interaction of Continuous Effects, specifically 613.2 which instructs you to 'apply effects in timestamp order')

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.