Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I think the title is self-explaining :)

Can I cast cost-less cards like Living End with Dream Halls by discarding a black card ?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted


Living End has a mana cost of "unpayable".

Dream Halls introduces an alternative cost of "discard a card that shares a color with the spell".

total cost
= (mana cost or alternative cost) + (additional costs and cost increases) - cost reductions
= discard a card that shares a color with the spell

117.6. Some mana costs contain no mana symbols. This represents an unpayable cost. [...]

117.6a [...] If an alternative cost is applied to an unpayable cost, including an effect that allows a player to cast a spell without paying its mana cost, the alternative cost may be paid.

Just in case there's any doubt, Living End is black.

204.2. An object with a color indicator is each color denoted by that color indicator.

(It had a characteristic-defining ability when it was printed, but it now has a color indicator. Characteristic-defining abilities work in all zones, so the answer would have been the same before the change.)

share|improve this answer
What is the colour indicator? The black frame? – doppelgreener Feb 18 '14 at 10:48
@JonathanHobbs, A dot next to the types. Compare and – ikegami Feb 18 '14 at 12:17

It says "Rather than pay the mana cost for a spell". Since it doesn't have a mana cost it has no effect on cards with no mana cost.

share|improve this answer
-1; Dream Halls creates an alternative cost for the spell. – Brian S Feb 17 '14 at 20:00
My bad. Didn't know 117.6a. A lot of rules questions actually can be answered by just reading the text. Guess this is one of the many exceptions. – Ivo Beckers Feb 17 '14 at 22:51
Has nothing to do with 117.6a. Casting a spell for an alternative cost rather than a mana cost doesn't require the card to have a mana cost. – ikegami Feb 18 '14 at 3:05

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.